You are here

Signaling Point Code

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Signaling Point Code

I don?t know the convention of defining Signaling Point Codes. I know there is a decimal representation of SPC like OPC-1004, DPC-3345. There is another format of representing SPC, it is binary format (8-8-8). I want to know the details about the conventions of representing point code along with the conversion process of each.

I?ll be glad if anyone helps me or provide some reference.

Edited by: admin on 05/16/2010 - 04:32
Re: Signaling Point Code

There are 4 types of point codes in use:

ANSI point codes are divided into three parts:
NetworkIndicator(8 bit)1 ? NetworkCluster(8 bit) - NetworkClusterMember(8 bit)
example: 240-012-140

ITU International point codes are divided into three parts:
Zone(3 bits) - Area(8 bits) - ID(3 bits)
example: 04-208-06

ITU National Point Codes have two possible values:
NNNNN or M1-M2-M3-M4

NNNNN = A number in the range 0-16383 (14 bits)
M1 = 0-7 (3 bits)
M2 = 0-15 (4 bits)
M3 = 0-15 (4 bits)
M4 = 0-7 (3 bits)

example: 15045  or  003-010-012-005

ITU National 24 bit point codes are divided into three parts:
Main Signaling Area(8 bits) ? Sub Signaling Area(8 bits) ? Signaling Point(8 bits)
example: 140-123- 028

Proud To be a Pakistani...

Re: Signaling Point Code

If you would like to convert your poincodes try to use - that's online converter.

Best regards

Re: Signaling Point Code

If you want to know about conversion from 3-8-3/8-8-8 to decimal/hex, you can visit the following link to get an idea -