Disclaimer: These archives are mirrored from smsforum.net in 2007 before the forum got closed. Please only part of the forum is available here.
For any clarifications regarding these archives you can contact us at http://www.telecomspace.com/contact.

TELECOMSPACE HOME PAGE         TELECOM DISCUSSION FORUM          CONTACT

+  SMS Forum Online Discussion
|-+  SMS Technologies
| |-+  ANSI-41 (CDMA & TDMA) Related (Moderator: SMS Forum Support)
| | |-+  Question about SMS Format
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Question about SMS Format  (Read 2445 times)
Leehg

« on: February 26, 2003, 09:18:30 UTC »

I am now studying the interworking between CDMA and GSM. Here I meet some problem. What's the different between the CMT (Cellular Message Teleservice), GHOST (GSM HOst SMS Teleservice) and WEMT (Wireless Enhanced Message Teleservice)? And what kind of teleservice is adopted in CDMA or GSM short message center?

Thanks in advance.
SMS Forum Support
SMS Forum Support
Administrator

« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2003, 19:10:15 UTC »

CMT is basic text messaging for TDMA or CDMA.. user to user,  application to user or vice versa. The other teleservices VMN (voicemail), CPT (paging) are used for specific applications and while they can carry text, are primarily fitted with special bearer data fields to activate logos, carry message counters and other features on the handset.

GHOST.. is a "hack" in which GSM messages are simply sent over ANSI-41 bearers and is used to transition a customer base from CDMA or TDMA to GSM.. often the case for networks planning for EDGE or 3G.

WEMT.. (correct me someone if I'm wrong here) is the CDMA equivalant of WAP teleservice allowing URL posting and other WAP-related activities over the CDMA technology.

TDMA supports CMT and GUTS, CDMA supports CMT, VMN, CPT and WEMT.