Disclaimer: These archives are mirrored from smsforum.net in 2007 before the forum got closed. Please only part of the forum is available here.
For any clarifications regarding these archives you can contact us at http://www.telecomspace.com/contact.

TELECOMSPACE HOME PAGE         TELECOM DISCUSSION FORUM          CONTACT

+  SMS Forum Online Discussion
|-+  SMS Technologies
| |-+  ANSI-41 (CDMA & TDMA) Related (Moderator: SMS Forum Support)
| | |-+  Why I can't receive SMSNotification from HLR?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Why I can't receive SMSNotification from HLR?  (Read 725 times)
GenghisKhan

« on: December 08, 2006, 07:50:03 UTC »

Hi all,
I have a problem when my SMSC send SMSRequest to HLR to request location of a mobile. This mobile is being inactive and HLR reply me a SMSRequestResult with MSC address which managing that mobile. Eventhough I actived Notification flag, (it's mean when that mobile become active and can receive SMS message, HLR will send back to my SMSC a SMSNotification message) but when that mobile turn on, no message is transmitted to me.
How can I fix this problem? Help me, please!

Thanks & best regards,
GenghisKhan
shad

« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2006, 16:57:02 UTC »

Hi Genghis

If the HLR returns a valid SMS_Address, then it doesn't know that the mobile is inactive. It becomes the responsibility of the serving MSC (not the HLR) to send the SMSNotification. Check the smdpp for the SMS_CauseCode = "postponed", which means the MSC will send a notification later.

See ANSI-41 Ch3 Sections 7.11 & 7.20

Smiley
Shad
GenghisKhan

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2006, 05:27:17 UTC »

Thanks Shad,

I've checked & found that HLR response to me a valid MSC address. This MSC is really managing that mobile.